top of page
  • Stella Pallone

Random reflection on the year so far

Life seems to always be at the halfway point, either halfway to something stupendous or achingly horrendous. One of my feet stands on solid ground; concrete, while the other dangles over a treacherous abyss. I view life through a foggy screen, as if every day the Truman show, and I, Truman. My distorted reality came to be when I moved to the city last year.

Now living in Spanish Harlem and actively participating in its gentrification and demise, I walk to “NYC COFFEE” on 96th and 2nd to sip a $9 espresso. I go to school, mute each day unless I want to discuss some controversy surrounding Kanye West, and then I go home and sit on the phone for 3-5 hours, and then I fall asleep (after copious sleep remedies) to Seinfeld. Sometimes I go to work where I re-prep clothing park avenue princesses throw to the ground of dressing rooms for 8-10 hours at a time. In a single day, I get paid the price of one pair of pants.


I am now in the process of finding meaning in my routine. How my thoughts when I hang clothes, clipping and edging each fabric, may be of value to those other than me.


Why do we fall so hard for consumerism? Stronger than a first love, we buy to salvage heartbreak, self-consciousness, and depression. I include myself in this, for I believe a Vivienne Westwood belt will solve all of my problems.


With the crack of my Manolo Blahnik kitten heel, there was also a crack in my consumerist reality.



19 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page